News Release

The National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare has endorsed five new candidates for the U.S. House in Congressional districts spanning the country:  Abigail Spanberger (VA-07); Jessica Morse (CA-04); Haley Stevens (MI-11); Nancy Soderberg (FL-06); and Alyse Galvin (AK-At Large).

“These dynamic candidates have diverse backgrounds to bring to the fight for seniors’ retirement and health security.  None has previously held elective office.  Three of the five are challenging incumbents who have voted to undermine Social Security, Medicare, and the Affordable Care Act.  All of these new candidates particularly understand the challenges faced by women in the workplace, as caregivers and as retirees,” said Max Richtman, President and CEO of the National Committee.

Jessica Morse, a national security strategist, is challenging five-term incumbent Congressman Tom McClintock.  McClintock, a member of the right-wing Freedom Caucus, voted to repeal the Affordable Care Act, which would have allowed insurers to deny coverage to nearly 300,000 people in California’s 4th district with pre-existing medical conditions.  Morse wants expanded healthcare benefits for constituents – and pledges to “do everything I can to protect” Social Security.

Haley Stevens is a digital manufacturing executive and former chief of staff of President Obama’s Automobile Task Force. Her opponent for the open seat in Michigan’s 11th district is oil company executive Lina Epstein. Stevens is committed to lowering prescription drug prices, declaring that “senior citizens should never have to choose between paying for food or paying for their prescriptions.”  She promises to be a stalwart advocate for earned benefits who will “fight any attempt to privatize Social Security or turn Medicare into a voucher program.”

Nancy Soderberg faces ardent Trump supporter Michael Waltz in the race to succeed Congressman Ron DeSantis, the GOP candidate for Florida governor.  Soderberg, a foreign policy expert who served on the National Security Council and at the U.N., has called out Waltz for supporting the Trump/GOP tax scheme, which Republicans are using as an excuse to try to “gut Social Security and Medicare.”  Soderberg says sixth district residents “ know they can count on me to protect (earned benefits) instead of threatening to make deep cuts, because I listen to seniors who are worried about their ability to retire.”

Abigail Spanberger – a former CIA intelligence officeris challenging incumbent Congressman Dave Brat.  Brat is a Tea Party favorite who has been campaigning to slash seniors’ earned benefits since first running for Congress in 2014, telling CNN last year, “(We’re) going to have to do some major cuts” to to Social Security and Medicare.  Spanberger opposes “any attempts” to privatize either program or to cut benefits, and pledges to “protect Social Security and Medicare so we can meet our obligations to seniors, now and into the future.”

Alyse Galvin seeks to unseat at-large Alaska Congressman Don Young, who receives a meager 14% rating from the National Committee for his record on issues of importance to seniors during the 115th Congress. Young voted for the Trump/GOP tax scheme and for repeal of the Affordable Care Act.  Galvin pledges to “fight Trump’s efforts to take healthcare away from Alaskans” and to be “a voice for seniors (who) will strengthen, not cut, these vital programs.” She is a lifelong Alaskan and leader of a grassroots campaign for better education in the state.

The National Committee has endorsed more than 90 candidates for federal office during the 2018 election cycle.  We support candidates – both incumbents and challengers – who demonstrate a commitment to protecting and expanding seniors’ retirement and health security.


The National Committee, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization acts in the interests of its membership through advocacy, education, services, grassroots efforts and the leadership of the Board of Directors and professional staff.  The work of the National Committee is directed toward developing better-informed citizens and voters.

Media Inquiries to:

Pamela Causey 202-216-8378; 202-236-2123

Walter Gottlieb 202-216-8414