“As the country awaits full election results, we congratulate all of the seniors’ champions who prevailed in key races across the U.S. last night.  Several candidates who the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare enthusiastically endorsed have emerged victorious in both the House and the Senate (see below). These wins represent a resounding rejection of MAGA-nomics by voters in bellwether districts and states.  While clearly concerned about inflation, these voters have said ‘NO’ to more tax cuts for the wealthy and powerful corporations – and NO to cuts in workers’ Social Security and Medicare benefits, including reducing COLAs or raising the eligibility ages for both programs.

No matter who controls the House and Senate, America’s workers, retirees and their families are in agreement that they expect both parties to uphold the promise of Social Security and Medicare, to protect their benefits from any cuts and to ensure that these programs will be strengthened for future generations.  Americans need their earned benefits more than ever during times of high inflation.  Any member of Congress who says they want to take action to strengthen the economy but who denies the positive fiscal impact of Social Security and Medicare on state and local economies doesn’t understand how these programs work.” Max Richtman, President and CEO, National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare    

List of NCPSSM-endorsed candidate victories in key races:

Sen.-elect Jon Fetterman (PA)
Sen. Mark Kelly (AZ)*
Sen. Michael Bennett (CO)
Sen. Maggie Hassan (NH) 

Rep. Dan Kildee (MI)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH)
Rep. Matt Cartwright (PA)
Rep. Seth Magaziner (RI)
Rep. Susan Wild (PA)

 *not officially called yet



The National Committee, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization acts in the interests of its membership through advocacy, education, services, grassroots efforts and the leadership of the Board of Directors and professional staff.  The work of the National Committee is directed toward developing better-informed citizens and voters.

Media Inquiries to:

Pamela Causey 202-216-8378Walter Gottlieb 202-276-9089