June 3, 2014

News Release

Each year, Americans for Democratic Action, the organization co-founded by Eleanor Roosevelt to keep FDR’s New Deal dream alive, honors their former counsel Winn Newman with an award in his name. The Winn Newman Equality award honors those who, like Winn, are fighting for equality in America.  The National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare’s President, Max Richtman, has been chosen as the 2014 Winn Newman honoree.

“Strengthening Social Security and Medicare is a simple argument for equity, fairness and economic security which was at the heart of the New Deal’s mission and it remains at the heart of our mission today.  These programs play a vital role in ensuring we preserve the American Dream for future generations.  Winn Newman was a progressive champion who spent his entire career fighting for fairness and equity, and I’m proud to receive this recognition in his name.”

The Winn Newman Equality award will be presented at the 67th Americans for Democratic Action Banquet on June 4th.  Past recipients of the award include ADA Counsel Jack Blum, President of Center for American Progress (CAP) Neera Tanden, and president and CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights Wade Henderson                       


The National Committee, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization acts in the interests of its membership through advocacy, education, services, grassroots efforts and the leadership of the Board of Directors and professional staff.  The work of the National Committee is directed toward developing better-informed citizens and voters.


Media Inquiries to:
Pamela Causey 202-216-8378/202-236-2123
Kim Wright 202-216-8414