The Advisory Board for the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare provides guidance and support to the President and CEO and executive staff. The Advisory Board is comprised of volunteers including current and former executives and leaders from various disciplines, political and legislative backgrounds. The board offers advice on prospective donors, provides input on the organization’s work, and shares expertise on political strategy to aid in the National Committee’s lobbying and advocacy activities.

Senator Tom Harkin (IA), Chair
Senator Harkin represented Iowa in the United States Congress for more than four decades. He served Iowa’s 5th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1975 to 1985 and was a U.S. Senator from 1985 to 2015. Sen. Harkin’s legacy policy priorities have included federal farm policy, civil rights for Americans with disabilities and healthcare access and reform.  Along with introducing and supporting bills to protect retirees, Sen. Harkin served as chairman of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP). He worked to reduce the retirement deficit by strengthening the two-tiered system of public retirement and private pensions.

James Roosevelt, Jr., Vice-Chair
Jim is currently of Counsel at Verrill-Dana Law. He is a national speaker and author on the Affordable Care Act, Medicare and Medicaid policy, and Social Security. For more than 10 years, Jim was CEO of Tufts Health Plan. Before joining Tufts Health Plan, he served as Associate Commissioner of the U.S. Social Security Administration. Jim is the son of the National Committee’s founder, Congressman James Roosevelt, and grandson of President Franklin D. Roosevelt.


The Honorable Ron Barber (AZ)
US House of Representatives 2012-2015

Senator Mark Begich (AK)

Carolyn W. Colvin
Acting Commissioner of Social Security Administration  2013-2017

Edward Hughes

Phillip W. Johnston
President & CEO, Johnston Associates

William K. Vaughn
Health Care Consultant 

The Honorable Lynn C. Woolsey (WA)
US House of Representatives 1993-2013